A magnitude 6.7 earthquake rocked Surigao City on Friday evening. Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) Secretary Judy Taguiwalo confirmed that four persons died, while 82 are injured.

Here are five fast facts about the magnitude 6.7 earthquake that hit Surigao City:

1. The magnitude 6.7 earthquake hit 14 kilometers (km) northwest of Surigao City in Surigao del Norte. It was tectonic in origin and had a depth of 11 kilometers (km).

 The Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (PHIVOLCS) also recorded a series of aftershocks after the 10:03 pm magnitude 6.7 earthquake. These aftershocks included the magnitude 3.6 earthquake in Cortes, Surigao Del Sur at around 12 midnight and the magnitude 3.7 earthquake in Burgos, Surigao Del Norte, among 87 other aftershocks.

PHIVOLCS said that there is no tsunami threat in the Philippines from this earthquake. Phivolcs Director Renato Solidum also confirmed that the last similar tectonic movement in the Philippine Fault Zone Surigao segment was in 1879 with a magnitude 7.4 quake. He added that Surigao City experienced the intense effect of the earthquake as the city is near the epicenter of the fault zone.

2. Surigao City airport was closed on Saturday as part of its runway was damaged by the earthquake. The Civil Aviation Authority of the Philippines (CAAP) said it will be closed until March 10.

The closure of the airport led to the suspension of Cebu Pacific flights to and from Surigao starting Saturday onwards. The budget airline issued an advisory stating that affected passengers may be accommodated through mounted Cebu-Butuan-Cebu flights. Other options were also provided such as rebooking or rerouting of flights to an alternate station for travel within 30 days, without any additional fee. Passengers can also opt for a full refund.

Aside from the suspension of flights in the area, Port Police Froilan Caturla also confirmed all vessel and port operations at Lipata port for cargo, heavy equipment and buses were diverted to the Port of Surigao due to the damaged and non-passable bridges at the National highway and Sabang area.

3. The earthquake also led to power interruption in affected areas.

A power outage was reported in Surigao City and the municipalities of Malimono, Mainit, Sison, San Francisco and Tagana-an, all in Surigao del Norte province. Water supply is also interrupted due to the earthquake.

Surigao del Norte Gov. Sol Matugas confirmed that 11 towns were affected by the quake, which also damaged the Provincial Capitol, two major bridges and other infrastructure. Classes in all levels were also suspended. 

4. Surigao City was declared under a state of calamity after the 6.7 magnitude earthquake.

“Ito ang pinakamatinding earthquake na naexperience namin (This is the worst earthquake we have ever experienced),” CNN Philippines reported Matugas as saying. Matugas also asked residents of Surigao to remain vigilant as aftershocks are still expected in the coming days.

Atty. Enrique Tandan III, Presidential Communications Operations Office (PCOO) Undersecretary for Legal Affairs/Concurrent Chief of Staff, was sent to Surigao to monitor the situation.

5. Netizens from Surigao were able to share images and videos of the damages caused by the earthquake.

Here are some images shared by Facebook users about the Surigao earthquake:

What do you think of the magnitude 6.7 earthquake in Surigao City? Let us know in the comments section below.